2008 Oakland A’s Season Blog, The Exodus (23-18)

by

Two home runs were the difference in tonights game between the A’s and Indians.  That’s a pretty big margin though when the final score is 2-0.  Joe Blanton came out and pitched what seems to be a very good game.  He only gave up 4 hits and two walks with four strikeouts in seven innings.  What the numbers don’t tell you is that 2 of those 4 hits were worth one run a piece. 

Meanwhile, CiCi’s pizza goes for a shutout with 11 strikeouts and only 2 walks.  Anytime a pitcher’s K-BB ratio hits 4+ you know he was dealing folks.  That’s what happened to the A’s tonight. 

I’ll be honest, I didnt’ see a single pitch of the contest tonight.  I was thoroughly engrossed in Moneyball, which I admit that I’m very late in reading.  By the way, thank you SmoothRon for getting me a copy.  I feel almost dirty, as an A’s fan, for not reading this earlier.  I switched the game on at 9:25 EST expecting to catch the last three innings (40 minutes before a home game would start) and had to endure no baseball as the running time for tonight’s game was only two hours and 8 minutes.  Ridiculous really in this day and age.

Where do we go from here?  A day ago we had the best record in the AL (which TGC pointed out to me) and now we’re hoping for another ChiSox win to keep us in the division lead.  How does this happen?  Well, like TGC likes to say, “That’s why they play a hundred and sixty two of ’em.”  As much as I hate Joe losing on a night when he throws seven and gives up two, in the long run the Elephants will win a lot of games in which they only give up two.

So tonight, I hate losing two in a row on the road to the Tribe.  Still, we’re scoring a lot of runs on average and not giving a lot up.  When we’re this close in the first half you have to feel good as and Oakland fan because you’re just waiting for Billy to come through with a Rincon type of trade in July.  It’ll likely be of the offensive sort this year, but you know that guy will find some cash and a three way trade to bring in someone who’ll energize the team in late June or early July.  We’re in good shape right now and that looming trade that seems to make no sense just makes me smile.  Until then, enjoy the games, enjoy some brews, and when Jack Cust starts being a Major League hitter again, e-mail me pronto.

One Response to “2008 Oakland A’s Season Blog, The Exodus (23-18)”

  1. smoothron Says:

    Believe me, I love the Bad News Bears as much or more than you love Moneyball. Also, I would venture a guess that Sabathia has eaten at CiCi’s a few times…

Leave a Reply

