Florida Dillard’s Not Safe Just Yet

by

rivas.jpgA few months ago, TGC told you about an upstart professional football league.  This quaint idea seemed like something that could actually work.  Put guys from the region they played college football on teams in that same area.  As a Michigan Football fan, Garrett Rivas kicking for the Michigan team in the AAFL would totally draw me to a game (if I lived in Michigan, of course).  Every Kentucky football fan remembers Bobby Blizzard, who transferred to UNC.  If you’d only knew then that the spurn of the big TE leaving could one day be turned around by a short drive to Knoxville to see him playing in the AAFL.  I don’t mean to be sarcastic (okay, not that sarcastic), I actually really do like the idea of this.  It’s kind of like having a single-A baseball team.  The product on the field won’t be worth a damn, but I’m sure they’ll have cheap beer and mascots running around everywhere.  What could stand in the way of this masterpiece?  Well, in the wise words of freshly re-signed Randy Moss, “Straight cash homey.”

Since inception, the League’s finances have been indirectly tied to the $300 billion federally guaranteed student loan asset backed securities market. In August, the sub prime mortgage crisis began spreading into other sectors such as municipal bonds and federally guaranteed student loans. The situation, which was considered to be temporary at the time, has continued to worsen. 

The release then goes on to say that the league needs a TV deal to insure the league can go in ’08, or they may have to postpone the league until ’09.  Now, I didn’t take a business class during my 5-plus-years at THE University of Kentucky, and am not really sure what that whole indented part means, but I do know things look bleak.  And let’s be honest, if a disclaimer is already put on the website, your league is totally f*&$ed.  I am sorry AAFL.  I am sorry Team Texas QB Eric Crouch.  Most of all though, I am sorry to all the Dillard’s in Florida, because we all know that Team Florida WR Peter Warrick is going to be hitting you up for some discounted Tommy Hilfiger just a little bit longer.

The only thing I’m not sorry for is hopefully TGC will quit trying to get me to go to Knoxville for the big Team Michigan vs. Team Tennessee opener.  I mean, like I could leave this place the weekend of the BlueGrass Stakes!

[ AAFL ]

2 Responses to “Florida Dillard’s Not Safe Just Yet”

  1. TheGoldfishCowboy Says:

    Hey! It’s freakin’ football in Neyland. I don’t care if it’s in April or October. I’ll go to a goddam High School Jamboree. The fact that we’ll (potentially) get to see CJ Fayton, Jason Mitchell and Tee Martin again in Knoxville is great. What about the thought of Bryan Randall in UT Orange (Team Tenn’s starting QB)

    I love the idea. You guys can kiss my ass.

    Come through Raycom Sports!! Pony up OLN!! Hell, BET would do!

    We need you!

  2. TheGoldfishCowboy Says:

    By the way, Darnell Hood is on MY team now.

Leave a Reply

