Sam Zell scoffs at your traditions; profits

by

 

In a move sure to upset one 2SL and other baseball purists the globe over (read: me), Sam Zell, CEO of Tribune Company, which owns (and is actively selling) the Beloved Cubbies, has publicly opened the door to sell the naming rights to Wrigley Field.

During an interview on CNBC, Sam Zell says despite Wrigley Field being known world-wide, he didn’t get a discount because he wasn’t going to use the naming rights that the field represents.

Zell said he plans to sell the Cubs and Wrigley separately and in his own time frame. He also disclosed that Major League Baseball has approved “four or six” potential ownership groups and that any one of them would be fine.

Personally, if it’s going to happen sometime, I hope Wrigley’s Gum ponies up the cash in the name of all that is holy in sport (and in breath tolerability).  This way we could all double our pleasure!  It’s like 69.  Everybody wins.

And honestly, Mark Cuban has got to be as bored with the NBA as I am, right?  I mean, at least with baseball you get a season that stretches over 8 months and allows you to enjoy the playoffs for several weeks… what’s that… oh right. My mistake.

 Side Note:  2SL’s well documented journey to the North Side last summer appears to have come just in time.  Hey, at least we got in while the gettin’ was good (and original).  Beware the Standing Room Only Ladies.

[CBS2Chicago]

7 Responses to “Sam Zell scoffs at your traditions; profits”

  1. Allan Young's Incoherence Says:

    Wisdom of Cantankerous Sam Zell

    I love this guy Sam Zell – he’s just so funny and sharp. Zell is the real estate investment billionaire who sold his Equity Office Properties Trust to the Blackstone Group for $39 billion in the early part of 2007. He recently bought the Tribun…

  2. Allan Says:

    It’ll be a shame to see Wrigley Field renamed. Sam Zell is a ruthless businessman – and that’s usually a good thing. He probably doesn’t want much to do with the baseball team anyway, he bought the Tribune Company because it came cheap and he wants to turn around newspapers, as daunting a task as that may be.

  3. eDayStat Says:

    That’d be like Candlestick Park getting renamed! Oh wait…

  4. Burnsy Says:

    $39 billion? I’d be happy with $39. And both sides aren’t always guaranteed the positive in a 69. Last week I ran out of peanut butter and my dog was pissed.

  5. Erin Chase Says:

    Can DoubleMint Gum and others be taken out of the aspartame so I can have it and everyone else? That would be nice of you that you can do it chemicals Acefulame Mannitol and Soy Lecithin and Malitol Corn Syrup and Xylitol Gum Base 1 Lake Made With Sugar Hydrogenated SoyBean Oil Arabic Succarose Artificial Flavored Artificial Flavoring that stuff on every gum please call me 508 997-1893 I am very concerned about all of those gums not just DoubleMint Orbits Tridents and Strides Ice Breakers Eclipse Dentynes Big Winterfresh Juicy Fruits so I don’t have anymore seizures. Ok or anyone erase the word ASPARTAME. KEEP ALL OF THOSE OTHERS INSIDE OF THERE. 758 MAIN STREET. ACUSHNET, MASSACHUSETTS. 02743-1100. E-MAIL ADDRESS:
    cchase93@comcast.net Ok Merry Christmas thanks alot yup bye bye.

  6. Erin Chase Says:

    Can you tell me how I can order this gum made out of sugar free and take aspartame out of there and I would like you to do that for me would you please do that take the chemicals that are made out of wood out of there for everybody to have and Eclipse and Freedents Juicy Fruits Peppermint Freedents and Spearmint and Big Winterfresh and Dentynes Extras Ice Breakers Tridents Big Red Orbits always big time can you do that for me call 508 997-1893 Mailing Address: 758 Main Street. Acushnet, MA. 02743 Code: 1100 House Apt#: 758 Areacode: (508) Ok please can you do that for me that would be a great big help. Ok thanks alot signature’s name: Miss: Erin Rebecca Chase let me know all right bye bye.

  7. Erin Chase Says:

    WordPress.com. Please help me with all of this information and call me at my home residential phone number ok please because I really need all of your help I need help ok so that it isn’t with aspartame that causes me to have seizures but not all of them I have exema rashes I sweat alot please help me out this is alot of serious stuff that I need help with.
    Please do not call the police on me never ever I promise you big time.

Leave a Reply

