“For lo, the winter is past, the rain is over and gone.”

by

Its a special day in my relationship.  No, not that one.  I mean my ongoing affair with the Bless You Boys themselves. 

They have done so much for me over the years; kept me company nearly everyday last summer out on the back patio, gave me a reason to spray myself with Champagne in 2006, and gives me a reason to take a half-day every March, play a recording of Ernie Harwell’s season-opening reading of Song of Solomon 2:12, and crack open a cool one on a work day.

Today is a special day in this relationship becuase my pitchers and catchers are reporting to Lakeland.  Its the unofficial start to what we all expect to be a championship season.  What kind of championship remains to be seen, but either way I haven’t been this excited for a baseball season in a long long time.

So Pudge, Bondo, JV, D-Train, and Nate: go wake up Todd Jones and tell him he’s late for PFP

Happy Valentines Day boys, its time to go to work.

UPDATE: Brandon Inge, who lost his job as the ink was drying on Miguel Cabrera’s contract, has reported to camp as a Catcher.  Good news all around if you ask me… and I guess you kinda did.

7 Responses to ““For lo, the winter is past, the rain is over and gone.””

  1. Peter Mol Says:

    have you a copy of ernies audio book? http://www.eharwell.com

  2. TheGoldfishCowboy Says:

    I have not.

  3. Burnsy Says:

    Brandon Inge had my favorite at-bat of all-time.

  4. TheGoldfishCowboy Says:

    Which one would that be?

  5. Smooth's Hero Says:

    Probably when Wainwright dropped the hook on him to end the World Series.

  6. Burnsy Says:

    Yes, that’s the one. That was a winner.

  7. TheGoldfishCowboy Says:

    I think the 7 pitcher-fielding errors and Grando falling down on a routine flyball ended that Series. Inge just happened to be the last guy with a bat.

Leave a Reply

